The Elder Scroll Online: Blackwood - Preview

Source: Official Trailer

In June of this year, the massive world of The Elder Scrolls Online gets even bigger with ESO: Blackwood, the next major expansion for the popular MMORPG. Set in the mysterious region of Blackwood, which includes towering Imperial cities, a damp and dangerous forest, and sprawling wetlands, this expansion continues the “Gates of Oblivion” story-arc that started earlier this year. In addition to a brand new zone to explore, ESO: Blackwood is introducing a slew of new features, including a dark main questline, brand new NPC companions, and a revamped levelling system. Simply put, Blackwood is one of the biggest expansions ever crafted for The Elder Scrolls Online, making some major changes to the core gameplay experience while harkening back to classic RPGs like The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.


The Gates of Oblivion Open in Tamriel

In this latest ESO expansion, the borders of Blackwood, a rural region located in Cyrodiil, have opened up for travellers to explore. Set 800 years before the events of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, players will get to live out new stories in this familiar land. Unfortunately, these adventures are tainted by the appearance of the demon-praising group known as the Long Emperors, who have struck up a deal with the Daedric Prince of Destruction, Mehrunes Dagon.

Source: Enter the Oblivion Portals, scattered throughout the region of Blackwood, fight your way to their heart, and shut down these mysterious Daedric constructs, lest they engulf all of Tamriel in flame.


By summoning Mehrunes Dagon, the Long Emperors unleash a violent apocalypse across the land, with portals to the hellish realm of Oblivion popping up throughout Blackwood. As a noble and heroic fighter, it’s your job to stop the Long Emperors and rid Blackwood of the forming Oblivion crisis. To help you on your journey, you’ll group up with allies like the wood elf Eveli Sharp-Arrow, the scheming Dremora Lyranth, and more. For both newcomers and fans of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, Blackwood looks to tell an enthralling and explosive tale of fantasy and fire.

Source: Retake the village of Rockgrove from Daedric-worshipping Argonians in a new 12-player Trial. Battle through the town and put a stop to the invading tribe’s rituals before they can call forth Mehrune Dagon’s great army.

Major Changes to the Champion Points System

Apart from the bevy of new content coming in Blackwood, the new expansion will also introduce a completely overhauled Champion Point system. For those starting their ESO adventure with Blackwood, you won’t need to worry about these changes yet, but veteran players should be excited. The concept of the Champion Point system remains the same — after reaching level 50 you’ll continue to gain experience, earning you champion points to spend on more upgrade options for your character. However, the skills and abilities you can unlock have been vastly altered, split into three distinct skill trees: Craft, Warfare, and Fitness.

Source: Earn, unlock, and loot a huge selection of Oblivion-touched rewards found within Blackwood and beyond. Acquire six powerful new gear sets, a host of dark collectibles, Achievements, items, and more!


Generally speaking, you’ll unlock champion points faster with this revamped system, while the new skill trees offer clearer upgrade paths to follow. There are several new mechanics to get used to, including the Champion Bar, which allows you to slot up to twelve unique abilities earned in the Champion Point system. You’ll have plenty of time to learn the nuances of this new system anyway, as the level-cap has been notably increased. Instead of the previous maximum of 810 Champion Points, players can now reach a max level of 3600. That’s a lot of adventuring!


The Fun in Oblivion Starts Soon

There will be plenty of other new features coming in ESO: Blackwood, including upgradable companions, fresh team-based raids, exciting world events, and more. Don’t worry though, as the Gates of Oblivion story-arc starts very soon. Players who want to experience the entire saga should start with the Flames of Ambition DLC, which adds two new dungeons to the game and begins the Gates of Oblivion story. Flames of Ambition will be available in March for those who are interested. The full Blackwood chapter expansion arrives not long after, releasing on June 1st for PC and June 8th for Xbox One and PlayStation 4. With a massive new level-cap and tons of interesting quests to complete, we can’t wait to dive into The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood when it comes out this summer!


Thanks for taking the time to read this article! Find more cool stuff on my FB page

This news is republished from another source. You can check the original article here

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.